Here’s The Tender Coming – Reissue


Pre-order for release on 8th September 2023.

Club 500 Editions are limited to 500 copies so don’t delay!

  • Club 500 Edition CD Book, A5 square with 24 pages, lyrics, new foreword by Nick Hornby, original sleeve notes, extra images and download.
  • Club 500 Edition 180g double vinyl with 12 page booklet, lyrics, new foreword by Nick Hornby, original sleeve notes, extra images, art print and download, exclusively available from this website.
  • Standard CD (no lyrics or sleeve notes) also available, includes download.
SKU: 6006 Categories: , ,


Originally released and licensed the EMI in 2009, Here’s The Tender Coming is now reissued on RabbleRouser Music, and on vinyl for the first time.

Includes: The Testimony Of Patience Kershaw – Lucky Gilchrist – Annachie Gordon – Here’s The Tender Coming

  • Mojo Magazine Folk Album Of The Year.
  • Top 50 Albums Of The Year, The Guardian and Uncut.

“Even more satisfying, compelling and varied than the Mercury-nominated The Bairns. Haunting, original and magnificent” 4 stars, The Guardian

“an exquisite mixture of light and dark, instinct and artistry” 4 stars, Uncut

“Folk music’s most beguiling act is back” 4.5 stars The Sun

“..a rare, undisciplined magic..this is another formidable work” fRoots

“Absolutely exquisite. A real work of art. I will be playing it at least forever” Paul Morley

“When confronted with music as splendid as this, it’s easy to be swept along on a wave of purple prose. “Beautiful”, “haunting”, and “beguiling” are all words that spring easily to mind whilst listening to this astonishing record..even such effusive descriptions drastically undersell” BBC Music Reviews

“My favorite county record of 2009. The county of Northumberland, that is. The supernatural singing from Rachel and Becky Unthank and the lovely arrangements are three reasons to hear this wonderful album.” Elvis Costello

Following on from their Mercury Prize nomination, Rachel and Becky returned with a name tweak (The Unthanks), revised line-up and a brand new album that rested not one jot on the sound that earned them the only British folk entry in The Guardian’s and Uncut’s Albums of the Decade.The album earned the band their first appearance on Later With Jools Holland, and they toured it across the world. Having produced and arranged much of the first two albums, Adrian McNally finally took to the piano stool, allowing Stef Conner to return to finish the final year of her PHD, having kept her studies going while playing over 100 shows in the shoes of departed Winterset member Belinda O’Hooley.

Additional information


Shipping & returns

We want shopping with The Unthanks to be easy. To make sure you’re completely satisfied with your experience with us we have a simple Shipping & Returns process.


We use Royal Mail to ship orders in the UK and overseas. Pricing has been calculated according to weight, and we’ve tried to keep these costs as low as possible. The average shipping times are:

  • UK – Delivery in 48 hours
  • Europe – Delivery in up to 14 working days
  • Rest of World – Delivery in up to 2-3 weeks

We aim to ship all orders within 24 hours of receipt or on the next working day, however because we’re a small team and sometimes on the road, there may on occasion be a small delay in dispatching your order.

You can find out more on our shipping page.


We’re happy to accept returns or exchanges of clothing or records in new and unworn condition with original packaging, within 14 days of receipt.

We do not accept returns of records where the product is not received back with us in its original condition and packaging, for example where a CD/vinyl has been opened. To return your order, please contact us first at

For more information about returns, see our returns page.